Galeton Borough, Two Townships To Join 68th District

From Potter County Today

Potter County will be split into two legislative districts under a preliminary reapportionment plan that is nearing final approval. Three municipalties in eastern Potter County will become part of the 68th District, which currently includes Tioga County and the western section of Bradford County and is represented by Republican Matt Baker.

67thdistrictAffected municipalities are Galeton Borough and the townships of Pike and West Branch. The rest of Potter County will remain in the 67th District, represented by Republican Martin Causer. A previous version of the plan placed Abbott, Stewardson and Hector townships in the 68th District, but in the most recent document they stay in the 67th.

All of Potter and Cameron counties will remain part of the 25th Senatorial District, represented by Republican Joe Scarnati. That district would pick up parts of Clinton and Clearfield counties.

Changes are the result of the 2010 U.S. Census. Each of the state’s 203 House members represents just more than 60,000 residents. With Pennsylvania’s population increase, a House member now will represent more than 62,000 people.

Potter County Today is a timely information site courtesy of the Potter County Commissioners. Reprinted with Permission.

Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page

Leave a Comment