McLaughlin Is New County Planning Commission Chair

From Potter County Today

johnmclaughlinA retired Pa. Dept. of Environmental Protection water specialist is the new chairman of the Potter County Planning Commission. John McLaughlin was elected by unanimous vote at this month’s meeting. He was nominated by Wanda Shirk, who did not seek re-election as chair. Curt Weinhold was elected vice chairman and Rance Baxter was chosen as secretary/treasurer. Other members are Marshall Hamilton, Tom Jacoby and Phil Hershey.


McLaughlin has been particularly active with the Triple Divide Watershed Coalition, of which he is chairman, and the Potter County Commissioners’ Water Quality Work Group. On behalf of the coalition, he conducted tests of all nine public water supplies in Potter County to provide baseline data that is critical to measure any impact from future earth disturbance activities, such as natural gas drilling. McLaughlin is also actively involved in public education activities focused on generating greater awareness of the need to protect local water resources. (Photo by Curt Weinhold)

Potter County Today is a timely information site courtesy of the Potter County Commissioners. Reprinted with Permission.

Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page

Leave a Comment