Meetings For Help With Medicare Options Begin This Week

Potter County Today

medicaremazeWith open enrollment for Medicare planned Nov. 15 to Dec. 31, Potter County Area Agency on Aging is once again offering help to recipients who are considering their options for Medicare Part D coverage in 2011. Help is available at several Potter County locations for those who are enrolling in Medicare Part D and Medicare Advantage Plans.

“Recently, Social Security, CMS-Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, and PACE  began sending letters to some Medicare beneficiaries,” explained Darcy Shutt from the Agency on Aging. “These letters inform beneficiaries of their options and possible changes to services. Please keep these letters and feel free to contact us with any questions.”

Field visits are scheduled as follows:

  • Monday, Nov.  1, Shinglehouse Senior Center, 9am-noon.
  • Wednesday Nov. 3, Coudersport Senior Center, 9am-noon.
  • Thursday, Nov. 4, Genesee UMC, 9 am to noon; Harrison Valley Community Center, 2-5 pm.
  • Tuesday, Nov. 9, Ulysses Senior Center, 9am-noon.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 10, Galeton Senior Center, 9am-noon.
  • Monday, Nov. 15, Austin Firehall, 9am-noon.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 17, Shinglehouse Senior Center, 10am-2pm.
  • Thursday, Nov. 18, Coudersport Senior Center, 10am-2pm.
  • Friday, Nov. 19, Galeton Senior Center, 10am-2pm.
  • Monday, Nov. 22, Potter County Human Services, Roulette, 10am-2pm.
  • Wednesday, Nov. 24, Ulysses Senior Center, 10am-2pm.

“Appointments are strongly recommended, due to the amount of time involved in each Medicare counseling session,” Shutt said. “Walk-ins will be accepted after scheduled appointments are seen.”

She welcomes phone calls at 814-554-7315 or 1-800-800-2560 to schedule an appointment or for more information.

Read more


Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page

Leave a Comment