PennDOT Announces Winners of Safety PSA Contest for Students

Harrisburg –PennDOT Secretary Barry J. Schoch announced today that 10 winning scripts have been selected in the department’s annual radio public service announcement contest for high-school students. This year’s theme was discouraging distracted driving.

“We were very impressed with the creative ways these students found to discourage distracted driving,” said PennDOT Secretary Barry J. Schoch. “Distracted driving is a growing concern and we hope that these messages will resonate with drivers of all ages.”

The winners were selected from more than 150 submissions made to 10 of PennDOT’s 11 local engineering districts. District 3 received no entries.

The winning students will be invited to Harrisburg to have their winning public service announcement, or PSA, professionally recorded. The PSAs will be distributed to local radio stations, and the winning students will receive certificates and finished copies of their PSAs.

For more information on distracted driving and PennDOT’s other safety efforts, visit

A list of PSA contest winners follows. (PennDOT does not have a District 7):

District 1 (Crawford, Erie, Forest, Mercer, Venango and Warren counties)

Mallory Severo, Ashely Gutshall and Morgan Pfaff – Conneaut Lake High School, Crawford County.

District 2 (Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Elk, Juniata, McKean, Mifflin, and Potter counties)

Matt Wickett – St. Mary’s High School, Elk County.

District 3 (Bradford, Columbia, Lycoming, Montour, Northumberland, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga and Union counties)

No entries.

District 4 (Lackawanna, Luzerne, Pike, Susquehanna, Wayne and Wyoming counties)

Mason Marsico and Vinny Arcieri – West Scranton High School, Lackawanna County.

District 5 (Berks, Carbon, Lehigh, Monroe, Northampton and Schuylkill counties)

Sam Matthies and Camille Chadwick – Berks Career & Technology Center, Berks County.

District 6 (Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties)

Alexandra Simon, Derek Viscusi and Nathan Hegel – North Penn High School, Montgomery County.

District 8 (Adams, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Perry and York counties)

Julia Reis – Northern Lebanon High School, Lebanon County.

District 9 (Bedford, Blair, Cambria, Fulton, Huntingdon and Somerset counties)

Rosa Shuey, Kearstin Keller and Simon Wilson – Tyrone Area School District, Blair County.

District 10 (Armstrong, Butler, Clarion, Indiana and Jefferson counties):

Natasha Robinson and Savannah Sackett – Lenape Technical School, Armstrong County.

District 11 (Allegheny, Beaver and Lawrence counties)

Terrell Gray – Pittsburgh Allderdice High School, Allegheny County.

District 12 (Fayette, Greene, Washington and Westmoreland counties)

Jason Sofran, Savanna Paci, Skyeler Balog, Alicia Kriebel, Kathryn Delverne, Cody Rossi, John Kautz, Katerina Findley and Dominic Faieta – Bethlehem-Center Senior High School, Washington County.


Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page

Leave a Comment