Potter County Offices Open On Election Day

From Potter County Today

election-dayPotter County offices will be open on Tuesday, Nov. 8 (Municipal Election Day). Starting last year, the county reversed a policy whereby all of its offices are closed for Election Day. Polls will be open in all 33 voting districts from 7 am to 8 pm. Candidates are unopposed for all but a handful of positions countywide.

For county offices, incumbents who are unopposed for another four-year term include Sheriff Kenneth Sauley (R/D), Treasurer Krista Miller (R), Register and Recorder Gary Kelsey (R) and Commissioners Susan Kefover (D), Douglas Morley (R) and Paul W. Heimel (R). Also unopposed is Kathy Schroeder (R, D) for Prothonotary and Clerk of Courts. Three county auditors will be chosen for a four-year term from among incumbents Patricia A. Nichols (R), Pauline Kleintop (R) and Margo B. Germino (D) and Libertarian Susan M. Haythornthwaite. In the commissioners’ and auditors’ races, each person may vote for up to two candidates.

Most school district, borough and township candidates are unopposed and many offices appear on the ballot for which there are no candidates. There are two exceptions, however:

  • Coudersport Area School District Region III, two school board seats will be filled from among three candidates: Timothy Watson (R), Jennifer Chambers (R, D) and Guerline L. Laurore (D). That district includes voters from Hebron, Sweden, Homer, Summit and Allegany townships.
  • Coudersport Borough Council, Ward I, two seats to be filled from among three candidates: Brian A. Wilson (R), George E. Hults (R) and Todd Alan Husson (D).

Magisterial District Judges Annette L. Easton (Coudersport) and Delores G. Bristol (Galeton/Ulysses) are unopposed for six-year terms, as is Kari A. Stubbs, running for District Judge in the Shinglehouse District.

Potter County voters will also cast ballots in the statewide races for Judge of the Superior Court, Vic Stabile (R) vs. David N. Wecht (D); and Judge of the Commonwealth Court, Anne Covey (R) vs. Kathryn Boockvar (D). Additionally, there are retention votes for Supreme Court Justice J. Michael Eakin; Superior Court Judges John T. Bender and Mary Jane Bowes; and Commonwealth Court Judges Renee Cohn Jubelirer, Mary Hannah Leavitt and Robin Simpson.

More information on the Municipal Primary is available on the county website here, click on “Departments” and “Elections/Voter Registration); or from the Potter County Office of Voter Registration and Elections in the Gunzburger Building, phone 274-8467.

Potter County Today is a timely information site courtesy of the Potter County Commissioners. Reprinted with Permission.

Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page

Leave a Comment