USDA Designates McKean and Warren Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

The USDA has designated McKean and Warren counties in Pennsylvania as contiguous natural disaster areas, making assistance available for farmers whose crops were affected by frost, freezing, high winds, hail, excessive snow, excessive rain and cold temperatures that occurred between February 15 and May 12, 2010.

Secretary Tom Vilsack said about the declarations, “President Obama and I understand these conditions caused severe damage to a wide variety of crops including fruit and vegetable crops, and we want to help. This action will provide help to farmers who suffered significant production losses.”

In addition, 19 counties in New York were declared natural disaster areas, including Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua and Steuben counties.

Also designated as natural disaster areas due to excessive rain beginning on June 1, 2010 were 13 New York counties, including Steuben county. Five of those counties were declared primary natural disaster areas.

Other counties in New York were declared natural disaster areas for other time periods during 2010.

For more information click here.

Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page

Leave a Comment