2 Potter County Teens Attending State Police Honor Camp

44 Pennsylvania Teenagers Attending State Police Honor Camp

HARRISBURG – A select group of 44 teenagers from across Pennsylvania is learning about state police operations and government through the annual Commissioner’s Honors Camp, being held this week at the State Police Academy in Hershey.

The cadets, aged 13-18, were selected from among more than 1,500 boys and girls who participated in local Camp Cadet programs last summer.

“This is a great opportunity for our troopers to build solid personal and professional relationships with outstanding young people,” Noonan said. “The local Camp Cadet programs give young people a positive attitude toward the law enforcement profession through exposure to the criminal justice system from a police cadet’s point of view. The Honor Camp is designed to build leadership qualities and to teach the youngsters more about the Department and state government.”

Troopers teach Honor Camp cadets about criminal investigations, police skills, use-of-force and related topics. The camp includes team problem-solving activities and sports, as well as a visit to the Capitol, state police headquarters and the Governor’s Residence.

The Honor Camp, which was created more than a decade ago as a reward for the top two cadets from each local program, continues through Saturday, ending with a graduation ceremony at the State Police Academy in Hershey.

For more information about the State Police, visit  www.psp.state.pa.us or call 717-783-5556.

Sgt. Robert Bemis of the Bureau of Training and Education, PSP Academy in Hershey, is coordinating the Honor Camp program.

Editor’s Note: Following are the youths invited to participate in the Honor Camp and their hometowns, listed by county:

Allegheny: Katya Bittner of Gibsonia and Shaelyn Parry of Gibsonia;
Armstrong: Kayla Cooper of Apollo and Tyler Snyder of Leechburg;
Beaver: Kaitlyn Kosto of Beaver;
Bedford: Brady Thomas of Bedford and Kailyn Thomas of Bedford;
Berks: Megan Ruppert of Robesonia;
Carbon: Dustin Koons of Lehighton;
Centre: Charlie Ross of Bellefonte and Kristopher Smeal of Hawk Run;
Chester: Veronica Becerra of Kennett Square and John Ost-Prisco of Dowingtown;
Clearfield: Alexi-Jo Hanner of Dubois;
Clinton: Nick Null Lock Haven;
Cumberland: Chancellor Campbell of Carlisle;
Erie: Alec Rogers of Erie;
Fayette: Austin Martin of Smithfield;
Franklin: Devon Schmidt of Greencastle;
Fulton: Savannah Kerlin of McConnellsburg and Timothy Mottern of Warfordsburg;
Indiana: Rebekah Hamilton of Homer City and Noah Walls of Seward;
Lancaster: Amanda Hauser of Denver and Richard Reel III of Quarryville;
Lebanon: Joshua Mattis of Lebanon;
Lehigh: Aubrey Gavin of Orefield;
Luzerne: Michael Dubinski of Hanover Township and Dante Zurenda of Dallas;
Lycoming: Alexa Withers of Hughesville;
Monroe: Meena Spitz of Long Pond;
Montgomery: Colin Bowers of Perkiomenville and Julie Weber of Blue Bell;
Perry: Joshua Criswell of Duncannon;
Potter: Gracie Hamilton of Ulysses and Garret Morey of Coudersport;
Somerset: Marissa Adamczyk of Windber and Benjamin Eger of Hooversville;
Susquehanna: Courtney Harding of Montrose and Christian Tomaino of Clifford Township;
Warren: Alyssa Cumberland of Warren
Washington: Amelia Motte of McDonald;
Westmoreland: Tisaiah Frei of Ligonier and Brianna Gaudi of Youngwood.

Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page

Leave a Comment