Coudersport Teen 1 of 50 Selected Statewide to Attend Honor Camp

State Police Invite 50 Young People to Commissioner’s Honor Camp

Participants Selected from Camp Cadet Programs Held across Pennsylvania

Harrisburg – Fifty teenagers from 34 Pennsylvania counties, including Elizabeth Burd of Coudersport, have been invited to learn about state police operations at the Commissioner’s Honor Camp next week at the State Police Academy in Hershey, Commissioner Frank E. Pawlowski announced today.

Pawlowski said the cadets, ages 13-18, were selected from among more than 1,500 boys and girls who participated in 26 local Camp Cadet programs last year. The Honor Camp was created in 1998 as a reward for the top two cadets from each local program, he said

“The Honor Camp provides the cadets with a better understanding of the workings of the Pennsylvania State Police and state government,” Pawlowski said. “Also, this is a wonderful opportunity for our troopers to build positive professional relationships with these outstanding young people.”

Troopers teach Honor Camp cadets about criminal investigations, police skills, use of force and other related topics. The camp includes team problem-solving activities and sports.

Visits to the Capitol, Governor’s residence, state police headquarters, and Hershey’s Chocolate World also are included in the week’s itinerary.

Pawlowski said the program begins Sunday, Aug. 1. A graduation ceremony will be held at 10:30 a.m. on Saturday, Aug. 7, at the State Police Academy.

Cpl. Joseph P. Nolte of the State Police Bureau of Training and Education coordinates the Honor Camp program. Julia E. Montgomery of the Pennsylvania Department of Health is the program administrator.

For more information, visit or call 717-783-5556.

Media contact: Lt. Myra A. Taylor or Jack J. Lewis, 717-783-5556

Editor’s Note: Following are the Pennsylvania youths invited to participate in the Honor Camp and their hometowns, listed by county:

Adams:  Jenni Sweger of Aspers;

Allegheny:  Dominic Montemurro of Tarentum and Angie Sporrer of Gibsonia;

Armstrong:  Sarah Heddinger of Ford Cliff and Colton Kennedy of Rural Valley;

Beaver:  Jacob Miller of Aliquippa;

Bedford:  Dylan Evans and Kylee Hess, both of Bedford;

Berks:  Kayln Hess of Blandon and Emily VanBilliard of Mertztown;

Butler:  Brett Heckathorn of Butler;

Cambria:  Nicholas Penatzer of Portage;

Centre:  Alexis Franks of Pleasant Gap and Daniel Styles of Moshannon;

Chester:  William Gondy of Glenmoore and Kira Womack of Nottingham;

Clearfield:  Stephanie Graham of Rockton and Shane Marshall of DuBois;

Clinton:  Tiffany Helgran of Renovo and Bradley Kile of North Bend;

Columbia:  Hali Wszolek of Bloomsburg;

Crawford:  Katie Uzarski of Linesville;

Erie:  Trevor Conrad of Erie;

Fulton:  Kyle Schoen of Fort Littleton and Morghan Taylor of Hustontown;

Greene:  SaJorden Miller of Mount Morris;

Indiana:  Ashley Thompson of Blairsville and Steven Zolocsik of Indiana;

Lackawanna:  Gregory Kugler of Scott Township;

Lancaster:  Jacob Dooley of Lancaster and Sabrina Miller of Christiana;

Lawrence:  Danielle Moffatt of Volant;

Lebanon:  David MacFaline of Lebanon;

Lehigh:  Liam Jacobs of Center Valley;

Luzerne:  Santo Giambra of Pittston Township;

Lycoming:  Brian McKeon of Trout Run, Taryn Peacock of Cogan Station and Justin Stipcack of Pennsdale;

Monroe:  Austin Larsen of Mount Pocono;

Montgomery:  Katie Quigg of Wyndmoor and Evan Woods of Collegeville;

Northumberland:  Jessica Baylor of Watsontown;

Potter:  Elizabeth Burd of Coudersport;

Somerset:  Kelsey Foor of Shanksville;

Tioga:  Nathan Bonham of Westfield;

Westmoreland:  Antonio Moffa of Grapeville and Abigail Wirth of Mount Pleasant;

Wyoming:  Kristi Katra of Tunkhannock and Lauryn Maleski of Factoryville;

York:  Timothy Shearon of York.

Save pagePDF pageEmail pagePrint page

Leave a Comment